Posted in Oliver

Oliver Says – Aged 1

I resolve to document what my children can say at these stages in their lives. I hadn’t put much thought into it the first time around with Elliott, because I had no idea how rapidly their vocabulary changes, or how different the language skills of my children would be.

Oliver was clearly our more vocal child, from the moment he could activate his voice box he was cooing and giggling with each passing moment. Here is a list all the words he says now at only 14 months old and all in appropriate reference to the subject;

  • Cheese
  • Mama
  • Dada
  • Thai Thai
  • Baba (bottle)
  • Teeth
  • Uh oh
  • Hi
  • Bye
  • Ahh (for Drink)
  • Num Num (yummy)
  • Baby
  • Whats that
  • Apple
  • Apple Tea
  • Elliott
  • Nana (for Nana and Banana)
  • Toes
  • Bat (Bath)
  • Shoe
  • Sot (Sock)
  • Sit
  • Muah (while blowing kisses)
  • Ta da
  • Thank you
  • Happy birthday 

At this stage I believe Elliott was saying Mama, Dada, and Hi, and it was like pulling teeth to get him to say it. He resorted to grunting, pointing and whining when he wanted something. Granted, its much easier for Oliver since he has a big brother to copy-cat.

I don’t ever expect one child to live up to the expectations set by another, but I do like to document their differences as I think this is definition of their forming character. Elliott has always been our more physically motivated learner, and Oliver is more literal. I enjoy getting to experience life on both sides of the fence as they guide me.

Tight Squeeze!

Ella

Leave a Reply

